Reviews (292)

well done

A&E
November 30, 2021
I went there on last Sunday and was seen within 3 hrs. That's not bad. well done
Anonymous

Things were ok

A&E
November 28, 2021
Things were ok over there but they need more staff.
Anonymous

Ms department no complaints

Multiple Sclerosis Department
November 16, 2021
I’m under the MS department and can’t fault the MS nurses at all, always there to answer questions and worries, even due to the amount of patients you may have to wait a day or 2.
Jackie morrall

Poor support

November 11, 2021
My mother was admitted due to poor mental health and alcohol intoxication. My mother heard the nurse say that they her department was not for people like her ( being intoxicated) and to go home and drink her normal amount of alcohol. I spoke with the discharge nurse and asked her what amount would that be as she is not an alcoholic and was binge drinking due to her mental health she didn’t have a satisfactory answer and dismissed me and just asked to pick her up and she was being discharged now. So my mum took her advice, reduced her alcohol intake and contacted mental health services which the discharge nurse and I both knew would be stretched and would not be able to help immediately. It took them three weeks before they could come and see my mom. She died from alcoholic ketoacidosis 12 days after being discharged and several days before any mental health recovery team made contact. No info was given about AKA.
Nicola

Professional and Caring

Accident and emergency services
October 14, 2021
After arriving at the QE in the ambulance after not knowing what happened I was taken immediately to A&E and connected to various monitoring equipment and visited by numerous Dr's and Nurses. I was kept in a few days in the ward after getting taken up after around 7 hours. I was kept informed as to what was happening by Nurses who were extremely busy but had to focus 90% of their time on just 10% of patients. Long waits for these patients to be taken back to Care homes meant the Nurses were turned into care home assistants.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for feeding back about your experience at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, your kind words have been shared with the department concerned.

Feedback like this is greatly valued as staff love to hear they have made such a positive difference. If you would like to provide any further feedback about your experience please visit the hospital webpage www.uhb.nhs.uk/yourviews.


Provider responded

I did not have a consultant

October 7, 2021
Until mid September 2021 I only received telephone consultations from my rheumatology consultant during all of Covid. My consultant left in April 2021 & until mid September I did not have a consultant.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are sorry to hear that communication and appointments have not been as expected. Changes have been made due to Covid restrictions and we are aware that telephone consultations do not suit everyone.
We are keen to listen to your concerns in more detail - if you are happy to do this please make contact with the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to provide your details. PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 424 0808, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk or by contact form at https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/forms/contact-complaint-concern.
Best Wishes


Provider responded

Awful

September 30, 2021
Awful, Doctors did not understand the needs of the patients with learning disabilities and did not listen to the carer.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience and are concerned about the issues you have mentioned.
We are keen to listen to your concerns in more detail to understand more about what happened. We have a Carer Support Service and a Vulnerabilities Team who are here to support both patients and carers. We would be very grateful if you could make contact so that we can try to ensure this does not happen again.
In the first instance please contact Carers@uhb.nhs.uk and we will put you in touch with the right colleagues to address your concerns and make plans for any future admissions.

Best wishes


Provider responded

The team is excellent and friendly

September 30, 2021
Cancer treatment - The team is excellent and friendly, Always there for you. Prices of car park need looking at.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for feeding back about your experience at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, your kind words have been shared with the department concerned.

Feedback like this is greatly valued as staff love to hear they have made such a positive difference. If you would like to provide any further feedback about your experience please visit the hospital webpage www.uhb.nhs.uk/yourviews.

We also note your comments regarding car parking costs and appreciate they can cause difficulties for some patients and visitors. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss this further: patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk

Best wishes


Provider responded

Very poor

September 24, 2021
Very poor, suffered unprovoked DVT x 2 have not had a face to face review or med change/review since diagnosed at the hospital over a year ago.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are so sorry to hear that you have been unable to get a review for your DVTs.

Current Trust guidelines are that patients aren’t not routinely seen face to face in the first instance however every patient referred to the anticoagulant service is given a telephone appointment within 4 to 6 weeks and then if a face to face appointment is needed then that will be arranged.

We are keen to listen to your concerns in more detail to understand more about what has happened and to ensure you are on the correct treatment pathway. If you are happy to do this please make contact with the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to provide your details. PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 424 0808, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk or by contact form at https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/forms/contact-complaint-concern.

Best Wishes

Nicky Beecher
Patient Experience Manager


Provider responded

Terrible

September 14, 2021
Terrible, not only do they seem to take drunken people more seriously then everyone else they don't give you the correct results to scans potentially leaving your body to go paralysed, they do what the doctors do pump your body full of strong pain killers then don't investigate.
Anonymous

Reply from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience and are concerned about the issues you have mentioned.
We are keen to listen to your concerns in more detail to understand more about what happened. If you are happy to do this please make contact with the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to provide your details. PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 424 0808, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk or by contact form at https://www.uhb.nhs.uk/forms/contact-complaint-concern.


Provider responded

Leave your Feedback


Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Contact

Mindelsohn Way
Edgbaston
Birmingham
B15 2WB

Location

Share this rating